top of page
  • Kgopotso Kgwedi

Beauty Revolution Festival 2019: A Masterclass in #HumanizingBeauty

Updated: May 1, 2019

Beauty is a complex industry of many masks. The three most prominent of these masks are diverse, gender-neutral (finally) and, for a lack of a better word, unstoppable. My translation of beauty, however, is (stubbornly) inflexible. Put simply, it caters only to the glamorous, vain and the (slightly) famous populace of this world. You know; the beauty bloggers, BeauTubers and beauty aficionados populating your Instagram feed every minute (on the slim chance you are connected to the WIFI). This alone made me immune to owning a single blending brush (whatever that is) and knowing the difference between a dome and concealer brush.





Allow me to share a little story about me. I barely wear makeup; as in I don’t wear make EVER. The end! Friends have tried and failed to badger(?) me into wearing some version of makeup and this is how the invitation to the Beauty Revolution Festival 2019 came about. The two-day festival that took place over the weekend of the 6th & 7th of April 2019 at the Sandton Convention Centre celebrated beauty in its totality. From cosmetics, hair care, nails, skincare and more, the festival guaranteed something for everyone.

“We are starting conversations about inclusion and identity. Beauty is about having desire and choice. Beauty is about you!” - Unknown

As a self proclaimed au natural girl I thought it rather far-fetched for an industry that is, on first blush, predicated on the idea that these products and services are a perquisite to look and feel attractive. But once I found myself in the midst of the festival and settled for the #powertalks (at least three, but who’s counting?) I soon realized my initial impressions (which were prejudiced to say the least) were given an overhaul with panelists like Pearl Thusi, Rabia Ghoor, Thando Hopa, Zipho Ntloko, and many more sharing their stories and perspectives. Panel discussions ranging from Body Positivity to Living your Purpose, The Business of Beauty and My Identity is not a Trend made for a stunning yet impactful conclusion to the electric conversations had on the main stage.



Beauty with a Purpose


For so many years we’ve had magazines tell us how we’ll feel about beauty brands and their products and this festival did the exact opposite. The event was a masterclass in showing how the industry and its trends are led by us consumers; that we have forced beauty brands, big and small, to stop and listen to what we want and deliver on it. There is no question the festival’s continued mission was to shatter boundaries surrounding traditional standards of beauty so as to reform them to create an industry of inclusion and the celebration of one’s true identity. And I must say, it was done with finesse. This holds especially true as attendees of the festival were from all walks of life and looking to get discounts on products from the Revlon, Foschini, All Things Hair, L’Oreal Paris, Candi & Co., MAC, and many more pop-up shops scattered along the event floor. Professional artists of all varieties - hair and makeup – were on standby to treat us to face beats and chic hair dos that had me wearing my crowning glory in its natural state (save for the glitter) for the whole second day of the festival. I could not help but feel as though they were there to help every person (boy or girl) look and feel gorgeous.




Beauty with a purpose so bold it cares for all shades and shapes in between. This is the wondrous journey I was thrust into by simply attending such a renowned festival. A first of its kind in South Africa, it has outdone itself in revolutionizing what beauty should mean. Dripping in melanin, I found foundation in my shade with no hassle and I got a tattoo on a whim (as if it wasn’t a lifetime commitment) by virtue of striving to #liveboldly in all that I do. In that one room I found that beauty isn’t about trends but about me!




6787"ߐŝ-

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page